Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Need to Vent
Unregistered 11:10 AM 04-28-2017
I have been providing child care for 20 years and I cannot believe what I am experiencing with MOST of the children in my care right now.

-No matter what I do, they don't seem to listen. I have tried everything I know how to do to help them learn to listen and researched different methods, and nothing is working. I will literally say 'please sit down while I am in the bathroom' and within 10 seconds most of the kids get up and are running around. I expect this from toddlers, but 4 and 5 year olds? They can't sit for 2 minutes?
I've tried rewards, time outs, taking away priveleges, talking nice, talking firmly....doesn't matter.
-Lack of respect for adults. This is rampant. I am really good about preparing the kids for 'what we are doing next'. They don't care. They don't want to cooperate. At pickup time, they are uncooperative with parents, kicking their shoes off and attempting to run back up my stairs. At 3, 4 and 5 years of age. I ask them to stop a behavior (like scratching a toy up and down my wall). They keep doing it.
-Sneaky behavior. As soon as my back is turned, grabbing toys from other kids, going somewhere they shouldn't etc. Disruptive behavior during nap time in 3-5 year olds.
-They are not able to wipe their own noses (instead they are constantly wiping their nose with their hands, even with redirection). I show them how to wipe and where to throw the tissue away, it never seems to improve. 2-5 year olds.
-Can't put on their own shoes, jacket etc. Zippers are hard, I get it, but I feel like 4 and 5 year olds should be able to do this.