Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Fewer kids in DAYCARE...is it just called BABYSITTING??
Unregistered 07:50 AM 09-25-2009
HI everyone~

My name is Rose and I have 2 infants I watch in my home. I began with the idea of being a legal DAYCARE, but in my state, anyone with MORE THAN 4 children this age must be licensed, and I think more than 4 is more than I care to watch.

I have been a Daycare center Teacher, Assistant Director and also a pre-school teacher and Nanny. I have business forms, parent consent forms, will file taxes and have a handbook with rules, etc.

Does anyone here run a smaller daycare that is NOT licensed but still has more than 3 children that are not your own?? If I am not licensed can I still consider my work a business and file taxes accordingly? Are my forms legal?

Thank you for your help

Rose
Tennessee
kitkat 08:03 PM 09-25-2009
I am not licensed and my state (WI) allows you to be unlicensed if you care for 3 or less children not related to you (your kids don't count in the total of 3). A friend of mine had sent her kids to a provider years ago who was not licensed and had more than the legal limit. Someone called social services (not because of numbers) and they told her to get down to the legal limit or stop providing care all together. She dropped her numbers to stay legally unlicensed. I'm not sure what the follow up was.

I have always stuck to the legal limit. I don't know what the consequences are for going over the limit, but there's no way I'm going to chance it. I recently had to let a family go b/c I wasn't able to take their newborn b/c I would have been over the limit.