Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Daily Progress Reports?
JENNL49 10:12 AM 01-21-2011
I am new to home daycare. Im thinking about sending home progress reports everyday to the parents. I hate to discuss a problem childs day with a parent when there are other parents standing around. I figure this way I can let them know through a daily report. We did it in a daycare I used to work at. Tells parent what activities we did, what we ate, how long we napped....

What are everyones thoughts on this?
Missani 12:26 PM 01-21-2011
I do this. I have different sheets for infants, toddlers and preschoolers. I don't have SAs, but if I did, I would have them write or draw a picture about their day and I would add to it if necessary. I find it easy to do and it takes only about 15 extra minutes each day. I find myself using it as a resource, too. (What time did the baby eat, again? etc.)
VanessaEO 12:32 PM 01-21-2011
I used to do daily reports, but honestly I found more often than not they were being thrown away and were never read.

So I stopped wasting the paper they were printed on.

If I could easily email my parents, I might consider doing a weekly report about their child, some of our fun weekly activities and anything coming up next week. But I haven't gotten around to that.
JENNL49 06:57 AM 02-01-2011
thanks guys!! Im still working on it!
Little People 07:09 AM 02-01-2011
Welcome to daycare.com !!
MARSTELAC 07:09 AM 02-01-2011
I used to do them for all ages (on pre-printed, fill-in-the-blank forms) then found out that the parents of the older kids couldn't care less. Now I do for infant, toddler and pre-school but am seriously considering stopping those as well.