Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Transitioning To A Nap Mat?
Unregistered 01:19 PM 07-29-2017
My son will be 21 months in August. He will be starting with a new provider then. I'm a teacher and at the end of the school year, his previous wonderful provider announced she was closing up shop and looking for a different job. I quickly found a new provider using her recommendations, the only issue is the new woman has her kids sleep on nap mats and my son was always in a pack and play at the previous providor's and of course has napped in his crib at home. How can a practice using a nap mat at home so it's not a huge shock to him when he starts the new place in a month? He has a great routine of taking a nap after lunch but I'm afraid he'll want to play with everything in sight if he's on the floor during a nap instead of contained. I know the new provider just lays out the nap mats on the playroom floor during nap time.
Josiegirl 04:53 PM 07-29-2017
Your ds might do better than you think. I started an 18 mo just for the summer and the easiest part has been sleeping on a cot. Her sister is nearby so I'm sure that helps. But I sit down right beside her with my book and she falls asleep within 5 minutes, listening to soft sleepy music. Seeing the other dcks resting the same way might help him settle in.
finsup 05:18 PM 07-29-2017
They do really well! I started a kiddo on a mat at 18-19m and no reap problems at all. He also had only been in a crib or pnp until that point. I did find cots as opposed to mats helped keep him in place more. He rolled off the mat a time or two, switched to a cot and it hasn't been a problem. They really do "get it" very quickly!

Even if he does play etc, the provider will just redirect him back to a mat, maybe sit next to him, rub his back etc until he falls asleep You can practice at home if you want, but I know my own kids would push/test me more then they would someone else lol.