Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Home Improvement Expense - Tax Prep Questions
christi 12:34 AM 05-02-2015
I've been operating a registered in-home daycare since June 2014, & this year, it's been my priority to upgrade our home (indoor/outdoor) to encourage the children's playful/creative/active nature, before getting really busy with being licensed for 10 enrollments in the coming year while working on my CDA credential. I currently have 6 full-time kids, and they are having a blast with our playground. It is worth the work & money spent, however, it will really be nice if we could claim a big percentage of it if not all as "business expense".

We have completed the following home improvement projects simply because we operate an in-home daycare, otherwise, we wouldn't even have thought of building (or should i say re-doing the whole backyard (kids playground) & the rest of the projects. Another difficult aspect to determine is because we did all the labor ourselves, & only spent for materials. I really would like help from anyone who is knowledgeable in regards to the depreciation type & business 100%/time-space, other categories on the IRS chart, & if the projects are qualified to be claimed as business expense in the first place. I remember the IRS said "common & necessary to the trade" or something in between those lines. I only tallied material expenses because we manually installed & built everything ourselves in strict consideration to State Licensing play equipment/area specifications.

1. Window blinds (for kids privacy from busy neighborhood but lots of natural sunlight) = $80

2. AC & trampoline enclosure (permanent fix to temporary cover)
= $345.21 (materials only: pressure-treated wood, screws, stain)

3. Playground set & Infant Swings (little trike buckled swings)
= $284.88

4. Swingset surfacing (required by Licensing Min. Standards)
= $235.84