Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Reggio / Waldorf / Forest Kindergarten / Granola / Natural - Learning Methods>I think I'm More Montessori Than Reggio
AmyKidsCo 07:22 AM 04-03-2013
I'm no expert but from what I understand, Montessori is about using things the "correct" way while Reggio is all about free exploration of materials.

I love Reggio but my personality is SO Montessori! I keep biting my tongue so I don't say "That's not how to use that!" "Those toys don't belong there!" "That's for __________, not ______________"

I'm too much of a rule-follower, LOL!
LK5kids 07:59 AM 04-03-2013
Oh, I guess I am more Reggio, as I am ALL about the kids using things in their own creative ways....well as long as it's not crazy, wild or destructive.

I didn't know that about either M or R!
Willow 08:05 AM 04-03-2013
That is not my understanding of Montessori *at all.*

Can I ask where you got that impression?

Hoping BC will see this thread and give her two cents
SilverSabre25 10:20 AM 04-03-2013
Yes, Montessori does have a strong emphasis on doing things a particular way. It's very precise. If you go here: http://www.infomontessori.com/index.htm and explore, you'll see that the works are presented very precisely and the kids are expected to be able to do them in EXACTLY the way presented.

I'm a blend of both.
Blackcat31 10:28 AM 04-03-2013
Originally Posted by Willow:
That is not my understanding of Montessori *at all.*

Can I ask where you got that impression?

Hoping BC will see this thread and give her two cents
Yes, I have LOTS to say so I will come back and post more but I did just want to say quickly that the entire basis for the Montessori method is UNINTERUPTED play and play that is solely based on each individual child's developmental stage/age within the context of mixed age groups.

Everyone gets to be the leader, middle and follower at one stage or another.

Play IS work and ALL elements of academic education happens within play.