Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Hello Ladies, Newbie Here Needs Some Advice!
Dsquared 06:22 AM 02-04-2011
Hi Ladies,

I'm so glad I found this forum! My wife runs a home daycare here, outside the Washington DC area. She is super nice and a real pushover, which can cause some problems when it comes to the business end of things. For example:

We never had a late pickup fee policy ever. Then, the teachers that we had who were dropping off at 7 am starting showing up past their pick up times, but before we closed. Then some of the other clients started showing up past 5:30 pm when we close. So we instituted a late pickup fee (thanks to the forum ) and we sent out an email alerting all parents. Then, they all get attitudes about the policy, one writes a bitchy email back (I should post it here) and cops a big attitude. One of them showed up 35 minutes late yesterday because he got off work at 3 pm and fell asleep until 6pm.

How do you guys deal with the attitudes over stuff like this? It seems like my wife's clients are always trying to fight/dispute what's clearly written in our contract. Our inclement weather policy says we follow whatever the Federal Government does as we are in DC. We had a recent snow storm and the Fed Gov opened two hours late and 2 parents came to drop off their kids at their regular times! Of course, we we brought this to their attention they got attitudes. Our contract clearly states my wife has all federal holidays off. Another client was bringing major attitude and trying to get my wife to work on Thanksgiving and News Years Day because he had to work (supposedly). We we referred him to the contract he got really pissed and they ended up leaving (good riddance). Frankly I'm sick of all the drama and crap these people try to pull and it's upsetting my wife who's really nice and totally not confrontational.