Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>At My Wit's End
Rockysmom1019 03:40 PM 04-06-2017
I am a new-ish lead teacher in the kindergarten/school age room at my daycare (I took someone else's position mid February). We take kids from first grade up to 6th grade. The average age is about 6 and a half, but I have two children who are way above the average age. One of the children is in the 6th grade and is pretty well behaved for the most part. His younger brother (5th grade), however, is the smarmiest, rudest, most obnoxious child I have ever met in my life.

-He doesn't listen to me when I ask him to do things. Ever.
-He is a bully. He will see someone's block building and knock it down for no reason.
-He touches my teacher closet without asking and will take things out of it.
-He backtalks like there's no tomorrow.
-He insults me. He has called me 'garbage' and 'ugly.' (Never going to get a girlfriend in the future talking like that, if you ask me)
-I have overheard him say that he wants to get me fired.

I have tried reasoning with him. I have tried raising my voice at him. I have talked to his mother way more times than I would have liked, but it seems like nothing is being done at home, because it keeps happening

No changes.

I have set a precedence for the other kids and they all listen when I ask them to do something. I don't want to scare children, because that's not in my job description, but it's also not in my job description that I have to be their equal.

I understand if he doesn't like the leadership change. The old lead teacher was a male, and he could bond more easily with him and he behaved around him. I also understand if this is a plea for attention, and he's just going about it the wrong way. I really want to make him like me and respect me, but it seems no matter what I do, he has zero respect for me, and I'm pretty close to giving up. I have even gone to my director about it, but nothing has been done.