Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Joint Custody Out of State-HELP!
Lilbutterflie 05:41 AM 07-12-2010
Hi,
I am still in my first year as a daycare provider, so I need some input on how to handle this situation. I have three siblings from a combined family that I take care of, but two of them have a father out of state. The mom has a joint custody agreement allowing them to stay with him 6-8 weeks during the year. So I've just been informed that in late Oct to early Dec I will only be keeping one of the children (who has a different dad). Not sure how to handle this one!

On her side of it, she doesn't want to pay full price for them when I am not providing care for 6-8 weeks! On my side, that would be a huge cut in my salary, and we always say "You are paying for the spot, not necessarily just the care". I do not want to charge her full price, I just don't think it's right. One year ago, I was one of those working moms, & I know where she is coming from! What would you do in this situation?
jen 05:43 AM 07-12-2010
Personally, I would charge her the full rate. However, if you are willing and wanting to do so, you could charge her the full rate for the child in care, plus 1/2 rate for those who aren't there as a holding fee.

Good luck!

Remember: Don't let them make THIER problems YOUR problems!
momma2girls 06:04 AM 07-12-2010
Originally Posted by jen:
Personally, I would charge her the full rate. However, if you are willing and wanting to do so, you could charge her the full rate for the child in care, plus 1/2 rate for those who aren't there as a holding fee.

Good luck!

THis is a good idea, whenever I have given favors in the past- it has bitten me in the butt, several times over. I give a break, then they want more and more.... I am done giving breaks!!!!
MsKara 07:33 AM 07-12-2010