AlaskaAlaska Childcare
State Requirements
Starting a Daycare Business SBB College Daycare Insurance Daycare Insurance
START A DAYCARE BUSINESS!
Daycare.com $29.95 Special Offer!
FOUNDED 1888-ACICS ACCREDITED
$2,000,000 in Scholarships and Financial Aid to Those Who Qualify!
DAYCARE INSURANCE
Liability Insurance Can Protect
You and Your Assets!
HIGHLIGHTS BOOKS!
With a variety of stories, puzzles, crafts and activities every month!

Licensing Standards for Centers In Alabama Click Here for Alaska Daycare Licensing Standards

Worker Qualifications
Caregivers having regular contact with children: At least 18 years old, although 14 - 17 year-olds may serve as caregivers if they have completed a child care training course or have demonstrated competency to satisfaction of administrator.

Provider /Child Ratio
Child-to-Caregiver Ratios
(a) Except as provided in (f) of this section, a child care home must have at least one caregiver, and may provide care for no more than a total of eight children under age 13 years, including the caregiver’s children under age 12 years. Of the total children in care, no more than three children may be under the age of 30 months. Of the total children in care, including children under the age of 30 months, no more than two may be nonambulatory.
(b) Except as provided in (c) and (f) of this section, a child care group home must have at least two caregivers and may provide care for no more than a total of 12 children under age 13 years. Of the total children in care, no more than five may be under the age of 30 months, and no more than four may be nonambulatory.
(c) A child care group home requires only one caregiver if
(1) the number of children decreases to no more than a total of eight and the requirements of (a) of this section are met; or
(2) the caregiver has completed one year of licensed home child care or the equivalent, or meets the college credit, CDA credential, or Montessori credential requirements of 7 AAC 57.300(d), and there are no more than a total of
(A) 10 children, with no children under the age of 30 months; or
(B) 12 children who are all school age.
Except as provided in (e) and (f) of this section, a child care center shall maintain, during all hours of operation, the following child-to-caregiver ratio and the following maximum group size as required by 7 AAC 57.510
Age RangeRatios For Daycare In Alaska
Age of ChildrenChild- Teacher: Maximum Group Size, Ratio of Children to Caregivers
Through 18 months5 - 1 (10:2) - Term for Child’s Age Group: Infants
19 to 36 months6 - 1 (12:2) - Term for Child’s Age Group: Toddlers
3 and 4 years10 - 1 (20:2) - Term for Child’s Age Group: Preschoolers
5 and 6 years14 - 1 (28:2) - Term for Child’s Age Group: Kindergartners
7 through 12 years18 - 1 (36:2) - Term for Child’s Age Group: School
(e) A child care center may maintain a child-to-caregiver ratio consistent with the age of the majority of the children, when kindergartners and school-age children are in a mixed age group. When infants, toddlers, and preschoolers are in a mixed age group, the child-to-caregiver ratio for the youngest child applies.
(f) For purposes of meeting the child-to-caregiver ratio requirements in (a) - (d) of this section, a child in care who is age 13 or older must be counted as a child under age 13 who is school age.
(g) In this section,
(1) "nonambulatory" means not physically or mentally capable of achieving mobility to exit a building without the aid of another individual;
(2) "total" means the total number of children in care at any time.
Becoming an Approved Child Care Provider

An approved provider provides child care services to child care assistance-eligible children in a private residence as the sole caregiver. Approved providers must become licensed within one year to continue receiving child care assistance payments. An approved relative provider provides child care services only to child care assistance-eligible children who are their grandchild, reatgrandchild, sibling, niece, or nephew. Approved relative providers must renew their status every two years.

To participate in the child care assistance program as an approved provider or an approved relative provider, you must:
- Submit a completed application;
- Agree to meet basic health and safety requirements;
- Pass a criminal history background check (also any household member 18 years of age and older)

Approved and approved relative providers may care for no more than a total of five children under 12 years of age, including their own children. Of those five children:
- No more than four children may be unrelated to the provider; and
- No more than two children may be under 30 months of age.

- If you reside outside the Municipality of Anchorage, contact your local child care assistance program administrator/
- If you reside within the Municipality of Anchorage, contact the Child Care Program Office/

What is In-Home Care?
Care is considered “in-home care” when when it is provided in the child’s own home.
An in-home child care provider is an individual who provides child care services in the child’s own home.
What Do I Need to Know?
- In-home care is affected by interaction with other laws and regulations in addition to Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP)
regulations.
- If you have your child care provider come into your home to provide child care, you are considered their employer.
Who Qualifies to be an In-Home Provider?
To receive payments through the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), an in-home provider must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be employed by the parent(s) of the family
- Pass a criminal history background check
- Provide care only to the CCAP-eligible children residing in the family’s home
What is the Process?
- If you choose to hire a child care provider to care for your own children in your own home, please contact your local child care
assistance program office.


Contact Information
Child Care Licensing Agency
(will refer callers to the appropriate regional regulatory office)
Alaska Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Public Assistance
Child Care Program Office
619 East Shipcreek Avenue, Suite 230
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 269-4500
Toll Free: (888) 268-4632 (within State)
Fax: (907) 269-1064
Alaska Daycare Listings
Child Care Subsidy Agency
Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
Division of Public Assistance
Child Care Programs Office
619 E. Ship Creek Ave., Suite 230
Anchorage, AK 99501-1677
Phone: (907) 269-4518
Fax: (907) 269-4635

Head Start - State Collaboration Office
Department of Education & Early Development
801 W 10th Street, Suite 200
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone: (907) 465-4862
Fax: (907) 465-2806

Child Care Food Program Agency
Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
801 West 10th Street, Suite 200
Juneau, AK 99801-1894
Phone: (907) 465-8708
Fax: (907) 465-8910

State Child Care Resource & Referral Contact
Alaska Child Care Resource & Referral Network
P.O. Box 141689
Anchorage, AK 99514
Phone: (907) 563-2910
Toll Free: (800) 278-3723
Fax: (907) 563-1959

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Child Support Services Division
Department of Revenue
550 West 7th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Suite 280
Anchorage, Alaska 99501-6699
Phone: (800) 478-3300
Fax: (907) 269-6813

Child Abuse Reporting Hotline
To report suspected child abuse in Alaska, call Toll-Free: (800) 478-4444.

For national child abuse information, call Childhelp®, 800-4-A-CHILD (800-422-4453), or your local CPS agency.

Homepage         Login            Sign-Up         Forum        Toys & Products        

Daycare.com a Resource for Parents and Providers

Daycare.com